Lecture Series

The Harold Clurman Lecture Series, formed in 1993 in an effort to keep students in touch with larger theatrical traditions, brings professional writers, directors, musicians, dancers and actors to the Stella Adler Studio. After lecturing, guests are interviewed by students, creating an open forum about what it means to be an artist today. The Lecture Series is one of many programs named to honor the spirit of Harold Clurman.

Participating Artists Include:

Edward Albee
David Amram
Alan Bates
Cicely Berry
Peter Bogdanovich
Christian Borle
Phoebe Brand
Richard Briers
Zoe Caldwell
Betty Comden
Brian Cox
Ossie Davis
Ruby Dee
Benicio Del Toro
Richard Dreyfuss
Olympia Dukakis
Five Lesbian Brothers
Maria Irene Fornes
Herb Gardner
Whoopi Goldberg
Henry Goodman
Adolph Green
George Grizzard
Rosemary Harris
Philip Seymour Hoffman
Ron Howard
Gordon Hunt
Anne Jackson
Cherry Jones
Harvey Keitel
Frank Langella
Arthur Laurents
Ming Cho Lee
Norm Lewis
Kristen Linklater
Robert Lopez
Laurence Luckinbill
Sidney Lumet
Harold Mabern
David Margulies
Jeff Marx
Geraldine McEwan
Terrence McNally
Matthew Modine
Anna Moffo
Alfred Molina
Michael Moriarty
Donna Murphy
Bruce Myers
Jamil S. Nasser
Yoshi Oida
Sidney Poitier
Harold Prince
Everett Quinton
Tony Randall
Lynn Redgrave
Lloyd Richards
Steve Rosen
Mark Rylance
Gene Saks
Roy Scheider
Cedric Scott
Marian Seldes
John Patrick Shanley
Fiona Shaw
Lois Smith
Lewis J. Stadlen
Patrick Stewart
Elaine Stritch
Walter J. Turnbull
John Travolta
Eli Wallach
Zoe Wanamaker
Sam Waterson
Jennifer Westfeldt
Diane Wiest
Henry Winkler
Joseph Wiseman